The capital and county government offices

The capital or county government offices are territorial state administrative body of the Government with general competence, and as such the biggest administrative units at territorial level. The altogether 20 government offices are located in the county seat cities and in the case of the capital city and Pest County in Budapest.

In line with the Act CXXV of 2018 and the Government Decree No. 568/2022 (XII.23) government offices coordinate and further the implementation of government policies at territorial level. They exercise coordinative, authority-type, proposing and consultative powers, allowing the adjustment of central decisions, policies to territorial characteristics and needs during planning and implementation.

As public authorities they have more than thousand official competencies and responsibilities. Related to the fulfilment of their tasks, government offices contribute to the elaboration and territorial implementation of certain sectorial strategies. In doing so, they take into consideration the territorial/local investment environment, gather the experiences of the territorial/local stakeholders (employers, universities, municipalities, professional chambers, civil organisations, etc.) and communicate them towards the central decision-makers.

Among the tasks of government offices, special emphasis is given to promoting and offering a "Service-provider State" to citizens and businesses. The objective set by the Government, which has to be implemented by the government offices is to develop an efficient and citizen friendly public administration resulting in improved quality of public services. Numerous government initiatives implemented in 2016 –among others relating to reorganization of central public administration, reform of district offices, modernization, bureaucracy reduction, or one-stop-shops called 'Government Windows'—contributed to the development of a citizen friendly public administration.

The district offices are the lowest level territorial state administrative units, operating in 174 cities and in the 23 districts of the capital city. Their function is to act in cases that are to be administered below the county government level. The integrated customer service offices, the one-stop-shops called Government Windows, providing information and other administrative services –from initiating and handling to closing a procedure –to citizens in more than 1500 different types of administrative cases, are part of the organizational structure of the district offices. District offices operate in small municipalities, villages branch offices or employ local case assistants, to ensure that their administrative services are available to all.

The Mobilized Government Window Customer Service or "Government Window Bus" is an administrative minibus that is available at pre-arranged times in municipalities where there is no permanent government window. At the Mobilized Government Window Customer Services, customers can arrange customer services available in government windows, submit their applications in official matters, and receive information on the progress of the procedure. Among other things: identity card, address card, passport, driving license administration, they also have the possibility to register a customer portal. At the moment, 25 buses are running in the settlements nationwide, it is planned that the entire fleet will consist of 50 buses and the service will be available in all counties.